Vaer · Microbrand · United States

Vaer R1 Racing Chronograph 38mm

In production · Chronograph, Racing

From $539 to $659
  • Seiko VK63A
  • 38 mm × 14.4 mm
  • Sapphire crystal
  • 100 m water resistance

Where to buy

Movement

Type
Meca-quartz
Tier
Mid
Complications
Hours, Minutes, Small seconds, Chronograph
Frequency
n/a
Power reserve
n/a
Hacking
n/a
Accuracy (factory)
-20 / +20 s/month

Case

Diameter
38 mm
Lug to lug
46 mm
Thickness
14.4 mm
Lug width
20 mm
Material
Steel (316L)
Hardening
—
Water resistance
100 m
Crown
Screw-down
Case back
Solid, screw-down
Bezel
Fixed
Finishing
Brushed and polished

Crystal & dial

Crystal
Sapphire
Shape
Box
Anti-reflective
Yes (side not stated)
Lume
Super-LumiNova W20 on dial (25 layers) and hour/minute hands

Bracelet & clasp

Style
Jubilee
Links per row
5
Solid end links
—
Solid links
—
Link attachment
Screws
Taper
20 → 16 mm
Quick release
—
Half links
—
Clasp
—
Micro-adjust
Tool (pin holes), 4 positions
Diver extension
—

Straps

Strap 1
FKM rubber, quick release, Included primary black "FKM Dive Strap" (tropic style); a second strap or a bracelet is chosen at checkout
Strap 2
Nylon, quick release, Khaki quick-release nylon strap, a free second-strap choice
Strap 3
NATO, Single-pass nylon strap (khaki on Cream, orange on Orange), a free second-strap choice (fitted with spring bars)

Weight

Head only
—
On bracelet
—
On strap
—

Prices

VariantConfigurationTypePriceUSDAs ofSource
CreamFKM strap + nylon strapMsrp539 USD$5392026-10-21link
CreamFKM strap + Premium jubilee braceletMsrp659 USD$6592026-10-21link
OrangeFKM strap + nylon strapMsrp539 USD$5392026-10-21link
OrangeFKM strap + Premium jubilee braceletMsrp659 USD$6592026-10-21link

Variants

NameReferenceDial
CreamR1-CRM38cream with red, black and cream subdials
OrangeR1-ORG38orange with black and cream subdials

About this entry

84% of key specs known. Missing: weight, hardening, end links.

USA-assembled meca-quartz racing chronograph in Vaer's cushion-shaped R1 Racing case; the 42mm R1 Racing and the R1 Oceanracer are separate models. Brand: 38mm, 46mm lug-to-lug, 20mm lugs, 10 ATM, 316L steel, locking screw-down crown, box sapphire with AR coating (side not stated), Seiko VK63, "40-month battery life", "-10/+20 sec/month timing tolerance" (Seiko's spec: +/-20 s/month). Thickness: the spec list says "12.6mm case thickness" and the sizing text "12.6mm in height (14.4mm with crystal)"; 14.4mm recorded. Two Broke Watch Snobs also gives 12.6mm (crystal not mentioned). Crystal shape: Vaer says box sapphire; Worn & Wound (2023) called it a "bubble" sapphire and Two Broke Watch Snobs "single-domed"; Vaer's wording kept. The VK63 has a date, but Vaer's R1 guide says the R1 has no date function (no window in the photos), so complications are set; the 24-hour indicator at 3 is also shown. Fixed steel bezel without scale (Worn & Wound); brushed top and polished sides (Two Broke Watch Snobs); "deep stamped screwdown case-back" (Vaer guide). Lume per the 38mm spec lists: 25 layers of W20 on the dial, W20 on the hour and minute hands (the 42mm page says 15 layers). The "case weight of 70.6 grams" in the sizing text is the D5 39mm figure repeated across Vaer's pages, so no weight is recorded. Every R1 ships with a black FKM strap plus a free nylon strap or a paid upgrade; the only bracelet offered is the Premium Jubilee (+USD 120): five-piece links, custom-fit end links, tapers to 16mm (watch page strap guide), screw links and four micro-adjust positions in the clasp (Vaer's bracelet FAQ for its Premium bracelets; Worn & Wound's 2023 launch report also mentions four micro-adjustments). Lined Horween leather (+USD 120) and, on the Cream, an FKM waffle strap (+USD 30) are other options, not recorded as prices. Worn & Wound reported pre-orders at USD 399 in February 2023 (the 42mm listing went live in October 2022), so no single release year is recorded. Orange added April 2025; its page shows a "Limited Release" banner without an edition size. On 2026-10-21 both colourways were in stock except the Cream with jubilee bracelet. No hardening treatment is mentioned.

Last verified: 2026-10-21. Edit or correct this entry.

Sources